[plug] re: Email rules

Jon L. Miller jlmiller at mmtnetworks.com.au
Wed Feb 20 09:48:15 WST 2008

On Wed, February 20, 2008 08:12, Gavin Chester wrote:
> On Tue, 2008-02-19 at 12:56 +0900, Jon Miller wrote:
>> Like to know if anyone knows if there are rules in either Postfix or
>> SA that prevents mail from entering the system if in the headers the
>> TO: and FROM: are the same.  I seem to think that there is a rule that
>> states if the two fields has the same information and the mail
>> originated from the Internet it was to either drop of delete the mail.
> So are you saying that when I send emails to a group of recipients in
> the way I described before (ie, from me to me, with them in the BCC)
> that you and others will treat that as spam?
Jon>> No
> Why? I thought it good
> netiquette to do it that way and what harm could it possibly do the
> recipient since I'm not obscuring my address? I would shudder to think
> you might block ALL email that does that regardless of originating
> address :-/
Jon>> What I'm looking for is a way to determine if the ip address and the
originating domain is not spoofed.  If it is then block the mail.
What we are getting is mail that states it from the same person, yet
further up the header it is clearly from a different domain/location. 
This is obviously a spoof mail.

Return-path: <blancheu at oe3.at>
Received: from mei
 by soth1.abc-wa.com.au; Sat, 16 Feb 2008 19:19:30 +0800
Received: from cl90-170-182-213.cl.metrocom.ru ([])
 by mei (MailMonitor for SMTP v1.2.2 ) ;
 Sat, 16 Feb 2008 19:09:55 +0900 (WST)
X-Mailer: CME-V6.5.4.3; MSN
Return-Path: communications_msn_cs_enus at cimail15.msn.com
Received: (qmail 12433 by uid 247); Sat, 16 Feb 2008 01:18:51 +0300
Message-Id: <20080216041851.12435.qmail at cl90-170-182-213.cl.metrocom.ru>
To: <blancheu at abc-wa.com.au>
Subject: February 72% OFF
From: <blancheu at abc-wa.com.au>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="ISO-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

> Gavin
> _______________________________________________
> PLUG discussion list: plug at plug.org.au
> http://www.plug.org.au/mailman/listinfo/plug
> Committee e-mail: committee at plug.linux.org.au

Jon L. Miller, MCNE CNS CCNA
MMT Networks Pty Ltd
East Perth, WA 6004
WA, Australia
+61 89227 0892

More information about the plug mailing list